Workshop Program

1:40 PM - 1:50 PM Opening Remarks
1:50 PM - 2:40 PM [Keynote] Title: Open source GPU Hardware and Software
Hyesoon Kim (Georgia Institute of Technology) [Link]
Session 1
2:40 PM - 3:00 PM [Paper] Cache Cohort GPU Scheduling
Vinay Ramakrishnaiah, Bradford Beckmann, William Ehrett, Rene Van Oostrum and Keith Lowery (AMD)
3:00 PM - 3:20 PM [Paper] GPU-acceleration of neighborhood-based dimensionality reduction algorithm EmbedSOM
Adam Šmelko, Martin Kruliš and Jiří Klepl (Charles University Prague, Czechia)
3:20 PM - 3:40 PM [Paper] Regular Expressions on Modern GPGPUs
Cheng Li and Clark Verbrugge (McGill University)
3:40 PM - 4:00 PM Break
Session 2
4:00 PM - 4:20 PM [Paper] Accelerating Stencil Computations on a GPU by Combining Using Tensor cores and Temporal Blocking
Futa Kambe and Toshio Endo (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
4:20 PM - 4:40 PM [Paper] Exploring Page-based RDMA for Irregular GPU Workloads. A case study on NVMe-backed GNN Execution
Benjamin Wagley (Colorado School of Mines), Pak Markthub (NVIDIA), James Crea, Bo Wu and Mehmet Belviranli (Colorado School of Mines)
4:40 PM - 5:30 PM [Panel] Panelists:
Bradford Beckmann - AMD
John Kim - KAIST
Dong Li - UC Merced
Daniel Wong - UC Riverside
Yifan Sun - William & Mary
Moderator: Seonjin Na - Georgia Institute of Technology
5:30 PM - 5:40 PM Closing Remarks

Important Dates

  • Papers due: Dec 12, 2023
  • Notification: Jan 25, 2024
  • Final paper due: Feb 17, 2024

Submission Guidelines

Full paper submissions must be in PDF format for A4 or US letter-size paper. They must not exceed 6 pages (excluding references) in standard ACM two-column sigplan format (review mode, sigplan template). Authors can select if they want to reveal their identity in the submission. Word and LaTeX atTemplates for ACM format are available for Microsoft Word, and LaTeX at:

Submission Site: GPGPU 2024

Workshop Organizers

José Cano Hyeran Jeon Yifan Sun Daniel Wong
Co-chair Co-chair Co-chair Co-chair
University of Glasgow UC Merced William & Mary UC Riverside
José Cano is an Associate Professor in the School of Computer Science at the University of Glasgow, where he heads the Glasgow Intelligent Computing Laboratory (gicLAB) and is also Deputy Lead of the Systems Research Section. His research interests are in the broad areas of Computer Architecture, Computer Systems, Compilers, Machine Learning and Security. He is a senior member of IEEE and ACM. Hyeran Jeon is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, Merced. She received her PhD at the University of Southern California. Her research interests lie in energy-efficient, reliable, and secure GPU architectures. She received NSF CAREER award in 2024. Yifan Sun is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at William & Mary since Fall 2020. He received his Ph.D. degree from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Northeastern University in 2020. His research interests lie in GPU architecture, performance evaluation, and performance modeling. Daniel Wong is an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Riverside. He received his PhD in Electrical Engineering at the University of Southern California (USC). His research spans GPU Architecture, High Performance Computing, and Warehouse-scale Computing. His current research focuses on energy efficient and high performance computing systems from datacenter scale to micro-architectures. His research work has been recognized with an IEEE MICRO Top Picks in 2012 and an NSF CAREER award in 2020.
Nafis Mustakin Yuan Feng
Publication Chair Web Chair
UC Riverside UC Merced
Please contact the organizers if you have any questions.

Program Committee

  • Kishore Punniyamurthy (AMD Research)
  • Hongyuan Liu (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Guangzhou))
  • Ian Colbert (AMD)
  • Bastian Hagedorn (NVIDIA)
  • Yuhui Bao (Northeastern University)
  • Mehmet Belviranli (Colorado School of Mines)
  • Jie Ren ( William & Mary)
  • Jieyang Chen (UC Riverside)
  • Yunho Oh (Korea University)
  • Hoda Naghibijouybari (Binghampton University)
  • Johannes Doerfert(Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

History and Impact

David Kaeli (Northeastern) and John Cavazos (Delaware) started this GPGPU workshop series, which was first held in 2007 at Northeastern University. In 2008, the workshop was held with ASPLOS 2008. This trend continued and this GPGPU workshop was held with ASPLOS for the next 6 years. From 2015 to 2018, the GPGPU workshop was co-located with PPoPP. In 2019 and 2020, the GPGPU workshop is co-hosted by Adwait Jog (William & Mary), Onur Kayiran (AMD), and Ashutosh Pattnaik (ARM). The average citation count (as per Google Scholar), for a GPGPU workshop paper is currently 37.5, where there have been 8 influential papers with 100+ citations.

Previous versions of the GPGPU workshop: